You are here Home  > Attractions >  Low Head Pilot Station Maritime Museum

Low Head Pilot Station Maritime Museum

Location: Low Head, Tasmania | Type: Galleries, Museums and Collections, Historical Sites and Heritage Locations, Landmarks and Buildings

  • Anchor from the wreck of the Eden Holme

    Anchor from the wreck of the Eden Holme

  • Low Head lighthouse and fog horn

    Low Head lighthouse and fog horn

399 Low Head Road
Low Head Tasmania, 7253
Phone: (03) 6382 1143

Visit website

On the picturesque Low Head Peninsula at the mouth of the Tamar River is Australia’s oldest pilot station, dating from 1806. It is a delightful collection of cottages in a beautiful setting. The Museum occupies the 1835 convict-built Pilots’ Row, the oldest and largest building on the site. It tells stories of shipping on the Tamar River, and has an extensive display of relics from the days of sail and steam.
The museum is a delight for families, having something of interest for people of all ages. Children are encouraged to handle the ship’s helm, operate the engine room telegraphs, sound the fog horn, ring the ship’s bell and send messages in Morse Code. There is a collection of small craft in the boatshed (open on request) and other exhibits around the grounds.
Continue to the headland, past the old cable station to Australia’s third oldest light station, with its grand lighthouse. Here is the only operating G-type fog horn in the Southern Hemisphere. It sounds at noon each Sunday.
Low Head is less than an hour from Launceston along the East Tamar Highway and only five kilometres from George Town which has museums, good accommodation and shopping facilities.

  • Entry Cost
    Indicative Prices
    Concession $4 Children $3 Family $15nTour Groups $3 per passengernSchool Groups $1 per student

    Phone: (03) 6382 1143

  • Facilities
    Coach Parking
    Interpretive Centre
    Pet Friendly - Enquire
    Picnic Area
    Public Toilet