You are here Home  > Flinders Island  > Attractions

Search Results for:

  • Strait Works Gallery

    Patrick Street, Whitemark

    The Furneaux Community Arts group manage and operate the Strait Works Gallery on the main street in Whitemark presenting a varied, regional representation from local artists and makers. The gallery houses a new exhibition or display every month and this small community gallery has been a focus for the Flinders Island arts and crafts since…
  • Bluff Track Fitness Trail

    The Esplanade, Whitemark

    Keep fit walking or cycling the Bluff Track Fitness Trail previously known The Whitemark to Pats River Walk. The 1 hour or 4.2km return coastal walk to the tidal salt marsh begins at the northern end of the esplanade in Whitemark, start out on the beach at low tide or follow the gravel road, watch…
  • Castle Rock Great Short Walk

    Allports Beach Road, Emita, Flinders Island

    The Castle Rock Walk, one of Tasmania's Great Short Walks, it meanders along the shoreline of Marshall Bay, crossing stunning beaches and coastal hinterlands on its way to Castle Rock, a massive granite boulder. The 2.5 hour return beach walk begins at 'Castle Rock track and car park' just before Allports Beach. Walkers can also…
  • Strzelecki Peaks Great Short Walk

    Trousers Point Road, Flinders Island

    The large granite massifs of Strzelecki National Park were formed during a major continental collision in eastern Australia, approximately 370 million years ago and dominate the southern part of Flinders Island. Strzelecki Peaks 4 to 5 Hour return walk climbs to the top of the 756m granite mountain, with breathtaking views from the summit on…
  • The Lady Barron Foreshore Walk

    Franklin Parade, Lady Barron

    The Lady Barron Foreshore Track, from the Slipway to Yellow Beach, enjoys coastal bush, rocky outcrops, and spectacular views. Yellow Beach boasts an ideal swimming spot as well as a free-to-use gas BBQ and overnight camping facilities, especially convenient for those arriving on a late night ferry. This walk features coastal vegetation, lichen covered granite…
  • Killiecrankie Enterprises

    9 Lagoon Road, Whitemark

    Killiecrankie Enterprises stocks a large range of gift boxed local "Killiecrankie Diamonds" - Flinders Island Topaz Jewellery as well as faceted topaz. They also hire sieves and shovels and sell treasure maps with specimen topaz so that visitors know where to look and what to look for. The shop also sells souvenirs and gifts including…
  • Furneaux Museum

    8 Fowlers Road, Emita, Flinders Island

    The Furneaux Museum on Flinders Island showcases the history of the Furneaux Group of Islands. Relics from shipwrecks and other artefacts are housed in seven buildings which themselves are exhibits. The museum has artefacts from some of Australia's earliest European settlements, including an anchor from the Sydney Cove, wrecked on Preservation Island in 1797 and…
  • Drive Discovery South East Coast Flinders Island

    Franklin Parade, Lady Barron

    Begin in Lady Barron, visit the port area or walk along the foreshore to Yellow Beach. Drive north to Cameron Inlet via Lady Barron Road turning off on Lackrana Road – for wetlands, waterbirds and remote beaches. Walk 3 km south from Cameron Inlet along Planter Beach to the Planter Wreck, timber remains of a…
  • Drive Discovery Central Flinders Island

    Memana Road, Whitemark

    Drive to Walkers Lookout for sunrise over the Darling Range or take an early morning beach walk near Whitemark. In Whitemark take a stroll along the Bluff Fitness Track allow an hour for the easy coastal walk. Or drive just north of the town and take Bluff Road to view the birdlife in this tidal…
  • Flinders Island Fresh

    11 Franklin Parade, Lady Barron

    Flinders Island Fresh supports local and Tasmanian producers. The headquarters for Flinders Island Fresh is located at the 'Tav Shack' - 11 Franklin Parade in Lady Barron (currently in renovation) Garlic, wasabi, hand-roasted coffee, chilli sauce and local preserves are just a few of the island delicacies that feature on our menus that change with…
  • Allports Beach Picnic Area

    Allport Road, Emita, Flinders Island

    A shaded free gas BBQ, picnic tables and toilets provided just below the campsite before you reach the beach. Allports barbecue area is day use only and donations are appreciated for the free gas BBQ, gas is kindly supplied by Parks and Wildlife. Fresh water for hand washing is supplied by two rainwater tanks, it…
  • The Patriarch Wildlife Sanctuary

    Lees Road,, Flinders Island

    The Patriarch Wildlife Sanctuary is on the east cost of Flinders Island located on Lees Road, Lackrana between Middle and South Patriarch - you can observe wildlife close-up, it is run by a trust and maintained by volunteers. An A frame building with bunk beds and a shaded free gas barbecue area make it ideal…
  • Flinders Island Art

    16 James Street, Whitemark

    Maria La Grue's Art Studio is located in Whitemark. Visitors are welcome to see Maria's work at the studio. Art workshops can be tailored to small groups or individuals. Media worked with includes watercolour, acrylics, inks, pencils and printmaking. Further examples of Maria's work can be seen on her website, Instagram and Facebook. Items for…
  • Killiecrankie Picnic Area

    Killiecrankie Road, Killiecrankie

    Killiecrankie foreshore hosts a free gas BBQ which is for day use only, the carpark can accommodate about 50 vehicles. Ideal for groups, other facilities include picnic tables, fresh water and a public toilet and shower. Killiecrankie beach occupies the southern corner of the bay, where the Killiecrankie Road terminates, and the small settlement is…
  • Bowman History Room

    2 Patrick Street, Whitemark

    The Bowman History Room offers a unique historical collection, located in Whitemark, Flinders Island. The room was created in 1996 to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Bowman Family business, E M Bowman & Co Pty Ltd, established in 1921. This amazing collection of shop items, photographs and account books from 1921 onwards traces both…